top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKevindion Gayol

III. Teaching Plan

Updated: Feb 20, 2019


Zoning out into Japanese History, into Indonesian Independence Movement (Jan. 20, 2019)

1. Curriculum


  • I have to finish the lesson in one sitting, as each section can only be met in once a week in a two-hour session, more so that a long test is scheduled the following week.

  • The discussion of the foreign Japanese history must culminate in the Indonesian Independence Movement, to link it to the previous topic on the effects on the different aspects of the Indonesians’ lives of the period.

  • I will observe the parts of the lesson plan, specifically review and motivation.


2. Teaching Plan


Textbook references inside the classroom and the library is impossible to use as it is in Bahasa, and I do not know how to read it. Hence, as was told by Ma’am Winahyu, my cooperating teacher, I have to provide my own references.


And I have not brought my own reference from the Philippines.


I searched the internet for a single reference that would cover all the needed information for the time frame I’ve been given, but, I found out that a reference is too long or sometimes lacking some stuff here and there. Moreover, I did not try to synthesize a new reference, and present it as the definitive text which will be handed to the students as reference, as it was not feasible. I have to combine multiple references, though I used a comprehensive reference as a narrative framework.


As the saying goes, when a door closes, a new one opens. This gives an opportunity to integrate technology that they have proficiency in using while still getting aligned with the concept of constructivism and cooperative learning. As my main activity, I will use a table outline of the Japanese history in these concepts: Period, Time frame, Significant People, Significant Events. As a puzzle, each student will organize their respective parts of the table using the internet, as I require them to create a short summary of their respective periods within five minutes using the information in the significant events as a clue and scaffold. Naturally, such a short summary will present me an opportunity to use lecture method, my preferred to method as student and as a teacher, to rectify or elaborate. As if by default, a civilization’s history presents the opportunity to use the principle of projecting the map where the civilization was set, and describe it geographically.


As the topic culminates into the Indonesian Independence Movement, it is fitting that after the lecture, the application is a group manifesto on how to be a politically active and productive Indonesian, in more or less the same manner as the Pemuda of the movement’s time. Let me gloat to have the opportunity to synergize it with an assignment in the form of a log, monitoring their adherence to the manifesto, integrating a meta-cognitive strategy in the whole learning process.


But, is the time enough? Truly, I felt glad that the allotted time is 90 minutes, but I think I have too many stuff to cover. In fact, it seems I am teaching to different topics. It is possible, but the lesson plan does not allow for any instance of delay. It does not have room for late start of class nor the students’ lagging out of immaturity or just intellectual deficiency. Not only is the projector used to show the slides, especially the geographical configuration of the country in the map, but also to project the quiz questions, instead of the usual reading, thus economizing time and voice. Quiz has to be strictly 5 minutes, then.


 

3. Others

These are the files for my actual teaching, including observation, and final evaluation.

  • Lesson Plan: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1VifBQXue4-UWbJfxSboIK1GzkAuCFbaW

  • Powerpoint: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1YA3UkzZzwRdMK3upi1_T2AAd13GLNkwG

  • Table Puzzle Complete Form: https://drive.google.com/open?id=16VsDv9q8dxhS4kCWQ0J4IMCmKZgSFxU_

  • Printable Instructional Materials: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1wCnjsvVP708VxSRKhX7qhCgXv-ATf_av


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page